Freezing Weather Forces Schools To Close On Wednesday In Metro Atlanta

Governor Deal has declared a state of emergency that covers 83 counties including the Atlanta Metro area. State Government offices are closed for non essential personnel today.

Governor Deal is asking everyone to stay off the roads to allow the Department of Transportation to treat roads and interstates.

The following school systems in the Atlanta Metro area are closed.

Atlanta Public Schools

Fulton County



Gwinnett (Digital Learning Day)










Decatur City

KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools are closed

Kennesaw State University is closed

University of West Ga is closed

Beulah Heights University​ is closed

Atlanta City Government and courts are closed

Dekalb and Fulton Government is closed

Gwinnett court and trial hearings are cancelled

The forecast is calling for extremely cold temperatures for much of the day on Wednesday. Travel may be difficult.

This site uses cookies, tokens, and other third party scripts to recognize visitors of our sites and services, remember your settings and privacy choices, and — depending on your settings and privacy choices — enable us and some key partners to collect information about you so that we can improve our services and deliver relevant ads.

By continuing to use our site or clicking Agree, you agree that CBS and our key partners may collect data and use cookies for personalized ads and other purposes, as described more fully in our privacy policy. You can change your settings at any time by clicking Manage Settings.