We Remember 2017: The Year The Men Were Fired

2017 was the year many well known male celebrities lost their jobs because of allegations of sexual misconduct.

Some say it all started in October with charges of rape from multiple women against Producer Harvey Weinstein.

But others say the charges of sexual harassment actually started to emerge with the Bill Cosby trial and news of payoffs from Bill Oreilly and Roger Ailes on the Fox Network.

There are at least 50 men who have either lost their jobs, resigned or been suspended because of charges of sexual misconduct in 2017.

Here is a partial list (that may change again before December 31)

Senator Al Franken (D-Minn.)

Representative John Conyers (D-Mich)

Representative Trent Franks (R-Ariz.)

Rep. Blake Farenthold, (R-Texas)

Representative Ruben Kihuen (R-Nevada)

George H.W. Bush, former president

California State Representative Raul Bocanegra (D-Los Angeles)

Kentucky House Speaker Jeff Hoover (R)

Representative State Representative Tony Cornish (R-Minn.)


Hollywood executive Harvey Weinstein

NBC “Today Show” co-host Matt Lauer

CBS “This Morning” host Charlie Rose

Amazon Studios top executive Roy Price

Chairman of Epic Records Antonio ‘LA’ Reid

Actor Kevin Spacey

“Super Size Me” Director Morgan Spurlock

Chief creative officer at Pixar and Walt Disney John Lasseter

Movie director and producer Brett Ratner

PBS Talk Show Host Tavis Smiley

Fox News Host Bill O’Reilly

E! News anchor Ken Baker

Celebrity Chef and Host of “The Chew” Mario Batali

Celebrity chef John Besh

Actor Jeffrey Tambor

Comedian Louis C.K.

Actor Andy Dick

Actor Dustin Hoffman

Actor Danny Masterson

Actor Steven Seagal

Actor George Takei  LGBT activist

Gossip Girl star Ed Westwick

Marshall Faulk, Heath Evans and Ike Taylor, analysts for NFL Network

Donovan McNabb and Eric Davis, ESPN radio

Eric Weinberger, former NFL Network executive

New York Metropolitan Opera conductor James Levine

Def Jam founder Russell Simmons

Former ‘A Prairie Home Companion’ host Garrison Keillor

NPR news chief Michael Oreskes

NBC Journalist Mark Halperin

Morgan Stanley managing director Harold Ford Jr

Venture capitalist Steve Jurvetson

Senior vice-president at Uber Amit Singhal

Larry Nassar, Olympic doctor

Rick Najera, Director of CBS’s Diversity Showcase


This site uses cookies, tokens, and other third party scripts to recognize visitors of our sites and services, remember your settings and privacy choices, and — depending on your settings and privacy choices — enable us and some key partners to collect information about you so that we can improve our services and deliver relevant ads.

By continuing to use our site or clicking Agree, you agree that CBS and our key partners may collect data and use cookies for personalized ads and other purposes, as described more fully in our privacy policy. You can change your settings at any time by clicking Manage Settings.