The 16-member Expansion Era Committee has cast its ballots, and Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa, and Joe Torre have been unanimously elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame. The announcement came Monday morning at the Winter Meetings.

Cox managed the Braves for 25 seasons in two separate stints, in addition to guiding the Blue Jays for four seasons. He has to his credit five pennants and one World Series (1995, with the Braves). Cox also claimed 15 division titles, 14 of which came with the Braves. Three times he won NL Manager of the Year, and once he was named AL Manager of the Year. Cox, who retired following the 2010 season, ranks fourth on the all-time list with 2,504 wins.

La Russa’s Cooperstown dossier includes three World Series titles (he joins Hall of Famer Sparky Anderson as the lone managers to win a World Series in each league), six pennants and the most wins of any manager not named Connie Mack or John McGraw (2,728 of them). La Russa also led three different teams — the White Sox, Athletics and Cardinals — to the postseason. He retired after leading the Cardinals to the championship in 2011.

As for Torre, he long ago positioned himself as a…

More At:


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Watch & Listen LIVE