On Thursday the SEC released its Coaches’ 2013 Preseason All-SEC team, and while all the usual suspects can be found on all three teams, there was one decision that is certainly going to raise some eyebrows.

Last season Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel won the Heisman Trophy. Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron helped lead the Crimson Tide to its second straight national title. So which one of these was named to the First-Team?

READ MORE: Man who fatally shot Ahmaud Arbery sentenced to life in prison for federal hate crimes

Neither. That honor went to Georgia’s Aaron Murray.

Now, in all honesty, all three of these quarterbacks are pretty good at their jobs. I mean, Murray threw for 3,893 yards and 36 touchdowns last season. He’s not exactly a slouch. Still, it’s somewhat odd that the coaches wouldn’t name Manziel to the First-Team — coaches couldn’t vote for their own players, by the way — and you have to wonder if there wasn’t a message behind the decision of the coaches. Or it could just be that Murray is entering his senior season and coaches tend to reward seniors.

READ MORE: China Launches Long-Range Airstrike Drills Around Taiwan On Fourth Day Of Military Exercises

Here is the entire list of players named All-SEC.


QB – Aaron Murray, Georgia
RB – Todd Gurley, Georgia
RB – T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
WR – Amari Cooper, Alabama
WR – Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
TE – Arthur Lynch, Georgia
OL – Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
OL – Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
OL – Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
OL – Antonio Richardson, Tennessee
C – Travis Swanson, Arkansas

QB – Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB – LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
RB – Tre Mason, Auburn
WR – Mike Evans, Texas A&M
WR – Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss
TE – Rory Anderson, South Carolina
OL – Anthony Steen, Alabama
OL – Ja’Wuan James, Tennessee
OL – Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt
OL – *A.J. Cann, South Carolina
OL – *Chris Burnette, Georgia
OL – *Zach Fulton, Tennessee
OL – *Jon Halapio, Florida
C – Reese Dismukes, Auburn

MORE NEWS: The Senate Passes Democrats' Sweeping Health Care And Climate Bill

Get the third team offense and the entire defense listings here: http://www.cbssports.com/collegefootball/eye-on-college-football/23265666/sec-coaches-vote-aaron-murray-first-team-all-sec