ATLANTA (WAOK)-Jeromey Chad Beaman is one of 88 Georgia students who have been awarded the Gates Millennium Scholarship for the Class of 2012. The Gates Millennium Scholarship pays for the total cost of attendance including tuition, books, fees, room/board, living expenses, at any university and for any major for undergraduate school and potentially offers a scholarship for graduate studies as well. Jeromey is a senior at Woodland High School in Stockbridge, GA, ranked 13 out of a class of 372 and has maintained a 4.1 GPA.  He is President of the Science National Honor Society, Chaplain of the National Honor Society, and a member of the Spanish National Honor Society and Beta Club. Jeromey’s goal in life is to become a neurosurgeon and he will choose between Morehouse College, The University of Georgia (UGA), The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), and The University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa (UA) to pursue an undergraduate degree in Neuroscience or Biology.
Only 1,000 Gates Millennium Scholarships are awarded each year. This year Atlanta ranked 3rd in the highest number of award recipients with 22.
The scholarship was established in 1999, initially funded by a $1 billion grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.
Congratulations to all of the Georgia winners

Tayo Akigbogun, Campbell High, Cobb County schools

Abena Amoakuh, Henry W. Grady High, Atlanta public schools

Destiny Andrews, DeKalb School of the Arts, DeKalb

Christopher Arencibia, Cedartown High, Polk

James Atkins, South Atlanta Comprehensive High/Animation-Design, Atlanta

DeJah Ault, Chamblee High, DeKalb

Seung Kwan Baek , Mill Creek High, Gwinnett

Jeromey Beaman, Woodland High, Henry

Juwan Bolton, Booker T. Washington High, Atlanta

Brittany Brown, Booker T. Washington High, Atlanta

Vicorie Brown,  Mount Zion High, Clayton County

Sydny Caldwell, DeKalb School of the Arts, DeKalb

Kaitlin Camp, Frederick Douglass High, Atlanta

Anastasia Carter, Arabia Mountain High, DeKalb

Cesar Chavez, Carver School Health Science Research, Atlanta

Chantil Coleman, Henry W. Grady High, Atlanta

Jose Cruz, Mccallie School, Dalton

David Daniels, Peachtree Ridge High, Gwinnett

Amber Davis, South Atlanta Science Health & Medicine, Atlanta

Jasmine Davis, Frederick Douglass High, Atlanta

Jasmine Davis, Chamblee High, DeKalb

Nancy Ejike, Newton High, Newton

Raveen Ford, Henry W. Grady High, Atlanta

Summer Ford, Campbell High, Cobb

Xavier Galloway, Norcross High, Gwinnett

André Goddard, North Atlanta High, Atlanta

Zachia Gray, Dunwoody High, DeKalb

EnRico Green, Lovejoy High, Clayton

Markell Green, Lovejoy High, Clayton

Alexander Greene, Maynard Holbrook Jackson High, Atlanta

Christopher Gross, A.R. Johnson Health, Science & Engineering, Augusta

Kimberly Guzman, Athens Clarke Central High, Clarke

Nicole Hardy, Dekalb School of the Arts, DeKalb

Vander Harris, Rockdale County High

Robert Hight, Alcovy High, Covington

Amber Hubert, South Cobb High, Cobb

Brian Hunt, Paulding County High

Henderson Johnson, Chamblee High, DeKalb

Aaron Jones, North Clayton Comprehensive High, Clayton

Kimberly Justice, A. R.  Johnson Health Science & Engineering, Augusta

Erica Kimbro, Therrell Law, Government & Policy, Atlanta

Maya Knight, Booker T. Washington High, Atlanta

Adrian Lewis, Coffee High, Douglas, Ga.

Chan Mi Lim, North Gwinnett High, Gwinnett

Joe Lindsey, Arabia Mountain High, DeKalb

Marcelles Lowery, Baldwin High, Milledgeville

Nguyet Mai, Morrow High, Clayton

Monica Maldonado, Dalton High, Dalton

Cierra Martin, North Atlanta High, Atlanta

Christy McDaniel, Cedar Shoals High, Clarke

Nayomi Mitchell, Norcross High, Gwinnett

Anthony Morgan, Norcross High, Gwinnett

Brian Motley, Redan High, DeKalb

Murillo Rodrigo, Pope High, Cobb

Rifat Mursalin, Frederick Douglass High, Atlanta

Jay Newsome, Whitewater High, Fayette

Uduak Obot, South Cobb High, Cobb

Chinonso Ogojiaku, South Cobb High, Cobb

Michael Oyeyemi, Riverdale High, Clayton

Vivek Patel, Collins Hill High, Gwinnett

Sandra Porter, South Atlanta Science Health Medicine & Science, Atlanta

Javier Prusky Grinberg,  Shiloh High, Gwinnett

Hira Qureshi, Dalton High, Dalton

Tony Rhone, Westlake High, Fulton

Bryce Rowan, Dunwoody High, DeKalb

Wade’ Ruff, Booker T. Washington High, Atlanta

Douglas Ruffin, Benjamin E Mays High, Atlanta

Ashley Smith, Crawford County High

Dorothy Stearns, Kennesaw Mountain High, Cobb

Alex Steele, Meadowcreek High, Gwinnett

Stanley Stewart, McNair High, DeKalb

Arsalan Sufi, Gwinnett School of Math, Science & Technology, Gwinnett

Kunal Tanna, Mountain View High, Gwinnett

Ashley Thomas, Carver School of the Arts, Atlanta

LaPorsche Thomas, Newton High, Newton County

Ashley Thornhill, Greater Atlanta Adventist Academy, Douglasville

Khadijah Tisdale, Henry County High

Thuy Hang Tran, Cross Keys High, DeKalb

Tshim Tshimanga, Redan High, DeKalb

Makeeva Walker, Early College at Carver, Atlanta

D’Andre Waller, Lovejoy High, Clayton

Tierra Warrick, Columbus High, Muscogee

RoShonda Welch, Whitewater High, Fayette

Maya Williams, Southwest DeKalb High, DeKalb

Peter-Jon Williams, Chapel Hill High, Douglas County

Kaamilah Wilson, Blackstone Academy, College Park

Jalani Wynn, North Springs High, Fulton

Shannon Young, John S. Davidson Fine Arts School, Augusta


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Watch & Listen LIVE