Rice Among 13 People Named To College Football Playoff Committee

View Comments
College Football Playoff Announces The College Football Playoff Selection Committee - News Conference
Game_Onair_RobH_640x480_091613 Rob Hamilton
Rob Hamilton has spent the last 22 years in Broadcast Media across the...
Read More

While we’ve been hearing the names of the people who will comprise the College Football Playoff’s selection committee in recent weeks, things were made official on Wednesday. The executive director of the College Football Playoff announced the 13 member committee.

“We wanted people of the highest integrity for this committee, and we got them. Every one of them has vast football knowledge, excellent judgment, dedication and love for this game,” said Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff. “They will no doubt have one of the hardest jobs in sports. But their skills and wide variety of experiences from coaches and athletes to university leaders and journalists will ensure that they will be successful. And they are committed to investing the time and effort necessary for this endeavor. We are grateful that they will be serving this terrific game of college football.”

And those 13 people are Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long (who will also serve as the chair of the committee), Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez, former Air Force superintendent Lieutenant General Mike Gould, USC athletic director Pat Haden, former NCAA vice president Tom Jernstedt, West Virginia athletic director Oliver Luck, Archie Manning, former Nebraska coach and athletic director Tom Osborne, Clemson athletic director Dan Radakovich, former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese, former college football reporter Steve Wieberg and former head coach Tyrone Willingham.

The release also says that the…

More at:

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus