The U.S. women’s gymnastics team is the Olympic champion for the first time since 1996.  The American squad of Gabby Douglas, Jordyn Wieber, Aly Raisman, Kyla Ross and McKayla Maroney won the gold medal in team competition.

The “Fab Five” were first in the preliminary round and went on to win the first U.S. women’s team gold since the Kerri Strug-led “Magnificent Seven” at the Atlanta Games.

Russia committed costly mistakes in its final rotation on the floor exercise and settled for silver.  Romania finished third to win bronze.

Get Caught Up On “What Everybody’s Talking About” In The Sports Kingdom!!! Sports Kings Radio, Saturday & Sunday 12n-4p on 1380 WAOK(Atlanta) and Follow “The Kings” on and on Twitter @sportskings1380.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Atlanta

Haunted Historical Sites In The South
Where To See Live Jazz In Atlanta

Watch & Listen LIVE