Georgia Names 156 ‘Focus’ Schools Under Waiver

ATLANTA (AP/WAOK) – The Georgia Department of Education has released a list of 156 schools labeled as “focus” schools under the state’s new accountability system.

The schools are one step above the state’s worst performing schools — called “priority” schools — which were released last week. The “focus” schools are ones with a graduation rate of less than 60 percent over two years or have large gaps between the highest and lowest achieving subgroup of students on campus. Subgroups can be determined by race, special needs and family income.

Dekalb and Fulton Counties have 10 schools. Clayton County has 15, Atlanta Public Schools have seven, as does Gwinnett County. Marietta’s city system and Cobb County each have two focus schools.

The state was one of 10 to win waivers last month from the federal No Child Left Behind law.

The other designations for school performance are: alert schools and reward schools. All designations will be handed out by the fall.


More From CBS Atlanta

Taz Goes Big With A New Daily Show!
Enter NOW

Watch & Listen