The Sports Kings: More Honors For RG3

Robert Griffin III has added another honor to his postseason haul. Baylor’s quarterback is The Associated Press college football player of the year.

The Bears’ Heisman Trophy winner won in a landslide over Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck. Griffin received 43 votes from the AP poll panel. Luck was second with seven votes.

Griffin guided Baylor to a 9-3 season by passing for 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns. The first Heisman winner from Baylor also becomes the first Baylor player to win the AP player of the year award, which has been given out since 1998.

Griffin also won the Davey O’Brien Award as nation’s top quarterback.

Get Caught Up On “What Everybody’s Talking About” In The Sports Kingdom!!! Sports Kings Radio, Saturday & Sunday 12n-4p on 1380 WAOK(Atlanta) and Follow “The Kings” on and on Twitter @sportskings1380.


More From CBS Atlanta

Taz Goes Big With A New Daily Show!
Enter NOW

Watch & Listen