Seven men were enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, including Deion Sanders who became the very first member of the Atlanta Falcons to be enshrined in Canton.

In addition to Sanders becoming the first Atlanta Falcon, Atlanta native Richard Dent is now the first graduate of the Atlanta Public School system to go into the HoF. Dent won the 1985 Super Bowl MVP for the Chicago Bears and is sixth all-time with 137-and-a-half sacks. 

Marshall Faulk, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, Shannon Sharpe, and Ed Sabol were also inducted this past Saturday. 

Faulk, a seven-time Pro Bowler at running back, ranks fourth on the all-time list with over 19-thousand yards from scrimmage. 

Linebacker Chris Hanburger was selected to nine Pro Bowls in his 14 years with the Washington Redskins. 

Linebacker Les Richter who was picked to eight straight Pro Bowls joined the Hall of Fame elite. 

Shannon Sharpe was selected to eight Pro Bowls as a tight end. 

Also joining these six players is NFL Films founder and president Ed Sabol.  Sabol and NFL Films won 52 Emmy Awards.

hof collage The Sports Kings: Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2011!

Get Caught Up On “What Everybody’s Talking About” In The Sports Kingdom!!! Sports Kings Radio, Saturday & Sunday 12n-4p on 1380 WAOK(Atlanta) and Follow “The Kings” on and on Twitter @sportskings1380.

  1. Sarah says:

    Congrats to neon Deion Sanders; the part of his speech about him being ashamed about his mother, was a little too much information but all in all, it was very deserved by Deion..

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE