Dekalb County School Board Closing 8 Schools

 The vote went in last night in Dekalb County to close eight schools.

Atheron, Glen Haven, Gresham Park, Peachcrest, Medlock and Sky Haven Elementary Schools, Avondale Middle School and Avondale High School are all expected to close. The decision will place thousands of students in different schools. The school board has stated the closures will save the county money, but parents like Annette Jackson are taking matters into their own hands.

Dekalb County is the third largest school system in Georgia.


More From CBS Atlanta

Taz Goes Big With A New Daily Show!
Enter NOW

Watch & Listen